West of England Champions!

The Band is absolutely delighted to be crowned West of England Champions of the Championship Section at Cheltenham on Sunday 3rd April 2022. We were delighted with our performance of Wilfred Heatons Contest Music . This was the result of the leadership and Musical Direction of our M.D. Glyn Williams . This comes off a 2 year Enforced hiatus from major competition and also off a winning performance led by Glyn at the recent Wychavon Entertainment Contest October 2021.

As our Chairman Shaun Mundy stated.

“West of England Champions for the first time since 1981. Thanks to the band of today and everyone associated with the band through those years! Also, well done to all the bands today after a rough couple of years. We look forward to representing the West of England and the village of Aldbourne at the Royal Albert Hall in October!” 

The Band is overwhelmed with the amount of Congratulations and feedback that it has received from the Banding Family and beyond, plus the feedback it has received from the Banding Press

4 Bars Rest Iwan Fox states

Deftly led by Glyn Williams over the treacherous hurdles of ‘Contest Music’, it was the Wiltshire band’s first top-flight Area victory since their sole success in 1981, although it was by no means a lucky outside bet come good”

The Band now looks forward to a busy Spring and Summer season of Concerts and looks forward to preparing itself for the British Open at the Birmingham Symphony Hall on September 10th 2022, closely followed by the Royal Albert Hall National Finals on October 15th 2022 ….we cannot wait !

Full Results

Championship Section:
Test-piece: ‘Contest Music’ (Wilfred Heaton)
Adjudicators: Dr Robert Childs and Alan Morrison
1. Aldbourne (Glyn Williams)*
2. Flowers (Paul Holland)*
3. Camborne Town (David Hirst)
4. Verwood Concert Brass (Kevin Smith)
5. St Dennis (Darren R Hawken)
6. Filton Concert Brass (Erik Van De Kolk)
7. Brunel Brass (Daniel Hall)
8. Woodfalls (Garry Cutt)
9. Michelmersh Silver (Melvin White)
10. Lydbrook (Steve Sykes)
11. SW Comms (Stephen Sykes)
12. Roche Brass (David Hamilton)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.